Auction for Dan

I’m finally finished with the first item up for auction and can write this post! First a bit about the cause…

Dan is my brother’s best friend. They have been friends since they were kids. His mom and my mom became best friends. When Dan was 13, he, and all of us, lost his mother, Darlene, to Ovarian Cancer. She was only 33. Dan was already like a member of the family, but after his mother’s passing, my mom practically adopted him. He spent Thanksgivings and Christmases with us. He’s like my little brother. Well, not so little anymore…:)

Dan was recently diagnosed with Pre T Cell Lymphoblastic lymphoma. He has been undergoing extremely difficult rounds of Chemo. He is only 26. He is back east where my family lives, and I wish I could be there to visit him. I also wish I was a millionaire, so I could take away the burden of the enormous cost of all his treatment, but since I am not, here’s what I came up with…

I am going to be auctioning off several handmade by me items over the next couple months. You will have @ 2 weeks or so to bid on each item and 100% of the money you donate will go directly to Dan. The first item up is a Lap Quilt. It’s made for a mix of thrifted fabric, and some of my favorite Alexander Henry. The binding is machine and hand sewn. Sandwiched in between is bamboo and organic cotton batting. It measures approx. 40″ X 40″. It has been laundered with eco-friendly, no dye, no frangrance laundry soap and comes from a pet/smoke free home. 

I’m sorry, but my sewing skills are far better than my photography skills! If anyone would like other pictures or have any other questions, feel free to contact me. The closing date for this item is September 25th at 12am. Just leave your bid in the comments section in whole dollar amounts.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank Ashley, Dan’s girlfriend. I have never met her, but by all accounts, she has been Dan’s rock, and has been by his side throughout, going so far as to quit her job so she could be there for Dan. THANK YOU! Dan is so lucky to have you and we all feel better knowing you are there. 

If any of you would like to read more about Dan and his progress, he has a blog: www.dannycanary.blogspot.com.

Thank you.

7 Responses to “Auction for Dan”


  1. 1 Tine September 11, 2008 at 7:11 pm

    How do we bid on this beauty? Maybe it’s just me not seeing the info. LOL! That happens quite often….

  2. 2 Tine September 11, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    …oh I saw it now! I’m sorry!

  3. 3 Amy September 12, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    I’ll start the bidding ….. $100

  4. 4 Jen September 16, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    I love the color choices – I’m particularly fond of the orange. Great job! Thanks for the info.


  1. 1 Sew,Mama,Sew! Blog » » Create & Celebrate Trackback on October 8, 2008 at 8:03 am
  2. 2 2nd Item up for Bid Almost Ready! « Sugarbug Trackback on October 8, 2008 at 4:13 pm
  3. 3 Auction for Dan-Take 2 « Sugarbug Trackback on October 24, 2008 at 5:57 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

